Award Announcements

Dr. Carolyn M. Tucker Received the 2012 Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award

The Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award recognizes educators who have inspired their former students to “create an organization which has demonstrably conferred a benefit on the community at large” or “establish on a lasting basis a concept, procedure, or movement of comparable benefit to the community at large.” Dr. Tucker was nominated by one of her former students (Dr. Keith Herman), who is now a prominent faculty member at another SEC university. In addition to receiving $25,000, Dr. Tucker was honored at the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Ceremony at the Carter Center in Atlanta, Georgia.


2nd Annual Spirit of Gainesville Award for Medicine Presented to Dr. Carolyn M. Tucker

The Spirit of Gainesville Awards are presented by the Gainesville Sun and honor community members who stand out for their dedication to creating a better community. Dr. Tucker was nominated for this award by Manuel Thomas Lopez, one of her graduate students in Counseling Psychology.